Google Earth Link:
Brouay village is just over a mile south of the main
Bayeux-Caen road (N13), and roughly half way between the two cities. From the
N13 take the D217 and cross over the railway line by the bridge. Then take the
next right (D94) into Brouay, and at the next road junction turn right
(following the green CWGC sign) under a railway bridge. Follow this road to the
church. Park here, and walk through the churchyard to the military cemetery at
The cemetery was started in June 1944, and reflects the
fighting that took place in the advance on Caen. Brouay itself was on the front
line between 10th - 18th June 1944, and was at one time the junction between the
British and Canadian forces around Caen.
The cemetery remained in use until
August 1944, and burials from men in the 53rd (Welch) Division are particularly
numerous, with the Oxs & Bucks Light Infantry, Royal Welch Fusiliers and
East Lancs Regiment dominating the graves here.
Set in a picturesque location overlooking Brouay Church, this
is one of the smaller Normandy cemeteries, and one that still retains much of
its original 1944 feel. Very much a 'comrades' cemetery with burials from the
same unit and division.